Smore Cookies

Smore cookies are my new weakness.

smore cookies

Read on to find out how to combine amore cookies with Toblerone, which is my deeply ingrained weakness. Well, who am I, thinking I can categorize my weaknesses? I have too many…

When my baking enthusiast saturates the kitchen with divine aromas, I am often convinced to partake of whatever it is she’s created, heedless of calories.

DSC_0030

A dozen one-month-old chicks can sidetrack me from any and all necessary farm chores on most afternoons, their antics forcing me to sit in the yard, watching and laughing with abandon.

chick antics

Lake water calls me for cool laps and leisurely time to float with the sun on my face and only the sounds of my rhythmic breathing and a nearby loon. That’s a weakness that can conjole me away from just about any chore quite often.

Lake

But chocolate (especially Toblerone), well that’s one weakness I have to hide to truly have willpower over it. But tonight, there’s no chocolate stashing. All Hershey bars are laid out with reckless abandon, right beside the graham crackers and homemade marshmallows. S’mores Day is August 10th, and we are honoring this momentous day as it was meant to be celebrated!

We love to experiment with all different s’more versions.

For the Hershey squares, try substituting… Toblerone (of course), caramel squares, Reeses, 2-3 Rolos, or even white chocolate

Instead of graham crackers, try… Snickerdoodles, chocolate chip cookies, chocolate cookies, or–for complete indulgence–s’more cookies (see recipe below, if you dare).

For my all-time personal favorite smore… load 2 smore cookies with a perfectly crisply toasted marshmallow set to ooze on top of 2 delectable Toblerone triangles.

I’ve read that the Girl Scouts are credited with creating this delectable delicacy of crispy graham, gooey fluff, and congenial chocolate back in 1927. But today, nearly ninety years later, on our plot of land that yawns along the crystal cool river under God’s brilliant diamond firmament… here where I and my soul mate of 22 years sit laughing with our 4 daughters, finally together again (the oldest home from her big-city summer internship for a few fleeting weeks of summer)… here where we are 6 but yet 1 again, sitting around a blazing crackling bonfire… here, the ambrosial s’more is perfected.

“Taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!” Psalm 34:8

————-

Can’t make a bonfire tonight? I would never recommend that ridiculous notion of warming chocolate squares, marshmallows, and graham crackers in a microwave. That’s just wrong. But this smore cookie is so right…

S'more cookies

A Cookie That Makes You Want S’more

{{Click here for a printable version.}}

10 Tbsp margarine, softened

1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp brown sugar

1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp sugar

1 egg

1 to 2 tsp vanilla

1 3/4 cup flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1 cup chocolate chips

1/2 c crushed graham crackers

mini marshmallows

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar. Mix in egg and vanilla, followed by flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Mix until smooth. Stir in chips and graham crackers by hand. Form balls of dough and place them 2” apart on baking sheet. Push a few mini marshmallows into each cookie, making sure no marshmallows are on the bottom or lower sides of the ball of dough.

Bake for 13-15 minutes or until edges are golden. Cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to cooling rack.

v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v vv v v v v v v v v v v v vv v v v v v v v v v v

Do you follow along on my efforts to Keep it Simple here on my homestead? Just click “FollowThisBlog” in the right-hand column, and you can learn from my weaknesses and the mistakes I seem to make daily here on our little piece of New England. If you ever get tired of my ramblings thoughtful contemplations about homesteading, gardening, living in an old farm house, parenting, and homeschooling, no worries–it’s even easier to unsubscribe than it is to sign up. So don’t hesitate. Follow along, and, in some little way, once in a while, I hope I can help you Keep it Simple while being Souly Rested on Christ.

^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^

SoulyRested on BlogLovin

SoulyRested on Pinterest

smore cookies

Leave a comment