A Poor Woman’s Bouquet

Her favorite flower was hated by most.

DSC_0610

It grew prolifically in her yard and gardens, despite her son-in-law’s insistence that it deserved nothing more than discarding. But she enjoyed the poor-woman’s bouquets that the dandelions afforded her. Turns out my grandmother’s insistence that the seemingly worthless mustard blossoms be given full reign ensured the early spring food for the truly valuable bees on her farm.

DSC_0518

Still today I can’t witness a bee dining on a dandelion without thinking of grandmom. My new farm has more lion’s teeth (“dent de lion”) than I personally would like.

DSC_0489

But I can’t help rejoice when the parachuting seeds take flight and spread the promise of many more poor-woman’s bouquets.

I’m thankful for memories of my precious grandmother who saw value even where others saw none. Who had very little, but knew she was wealthy. “Ill-gotten treasures have no lasting value…[but] the blessing of the Lord brings wealth, and he adds no trouble to it.” Proverbs 10:2 and 22

_____________

Want some interesting reasons why you could learn to love YOUR dent de lions? Believe it or not, this person has come up with 27 clever ways to use dandelions! (http://foodstorageandsurvival.com/27-ways-use-dandelion/)

Leave a comment