Christmas Riches

This Christmas Eve, I only have a few simple gifts to prop under the tree for each family member. But my life is overflowing with rich bounty, and my heart is overflowing with thankfulness. Thankfulness that my children will all be under our roof together, after I pick up my eldest from the bus station this afternoon.

DSC_0028Thankfulness that my parents have not only survived some health scares this year, but have made the trip to New England to spend the holidays with us and our extended, feathered and furry family.

DSC_0272

DSC_0314

Thankfulness that my husband–the boy who has put up with me from our youth and the man who is the love of my life–gets up early every morning.

DSC_0330

He drives a long, winding commute into work while encouraging me to stay home with my daughters and read, learn, bake, farm, and create together all day.

drying herbs for soup over the fire

10377544_1454652004783335_8052185674421941901_n

DSC_0058

DSC_0019

And my grateful heart keeps circling back to my riches. Not items that the world would claim as valuable, but immense riches nonetheless. I see the details of my life shine in all of their intended glory, I see the little things as the riches that they are, when I ask for eyes that are not the world’s and a vision that is not my own…

Be Thou my vision, O Lord of my heart;                                                                                                      Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art;

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset
Thou my best thought, by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

DSC_0177

Be Thou my wisdom and Thou my true word;
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord.
Thou my great Father, I, Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.
Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,                                                                                                        Thou mine inheritance, now and always:

Photography Tips on dirt road

DSCN4102

DSC_0100

DSC_0046

Thou and thou only, first in my heart,
High King of Heaven, my treasure Thou art.
High King of Heaven, my victory won,
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun!

DSC_0702
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my vision, O Ruler of all.

Be Thou My Vision is one of my life hymns. I pray He is your vision amidst this holiday season, hope you’ve seen a muddy cow or two in a nativity this December, and wish you a truly “rich” New Year. Merry Christmas from our meager Restful Falls Farm to your blessed abode, and from my family to yours.

❤ Michelle

DSC_1483

Pinterest

Leave a comment